Bang, Surry Hills

At the beginning of the year I made a promise with my best girlfriends; now that I was back living in Sydney, we’d organise a dinner once a week to try a new restaurant and have a girly catch-up. Sounds easy enough hey? Well this happened for the first time two weeks ago…that pretty much sums up how good we are at planning. Despite our terrible organisation skills, we definitelycan pick a damn good restaurant! The case was no different in relation to Bang – a hot new Bengali restaurant located smack bang in the middle of Surry Hills’ main street – Crown Street.

P1080606

Having never eaten Bengali food before, I was definitely keen to try something new and exciting. Bang is the brainchild of Tapos Singha, a Bengali chef seeking to bring the street food of Bangladesh to Sydney. And thank God he did! After being seated, the girls went straight for the cocktails (where I for once refrained as I was slowly dying from the flu – however I did have a try). Unfortunately the only drink I got a good photo of (the lighting was a little too romantic for my camera) was the Black Market Sugar ($18), with Vodka, Coconut & Cardamom Milk and Black Market Sugar Mix. This was seriously delicious, using common Bengali spices to offset the strong vodka flavour.

P1080597

But let’s get serious – I know you’re all here for the food. First up was the Dal Puri ($8) being fried little bundles of crispy heaven (roti) filled with creamy clouds (lentils). And that yoghurt sauce – just no words. As you can tell, they were delicious and light and gobbled up in preparation for the next delicious dish.

P1080600

We then ordered the BANG Bhaji ($8) which was a Fried Fritter, Cherry Tomato & Coconut Chutney. This was equally as delicious – being super crunchy and complimented beautifully by the chutney.

P1080601

And to wrap up the incredible entrées was the Fuska ($10) being Spiced Potato, Coriander, Green Chilli, Shaved Egg and Tamarind Water. These were just like little crispy pillows that just dissolved in your mouth. Seriously like nothing I have ever eaten before.

P1080598

For mains we shared Honey Roasted Panner with Eschallots and Peas ($20). The combination of the honey and paneer was so unexpectedly delicious, and those eschallots were next level amazeballs (sorry). It’s official; I am dropping out of law school to learn how to make Bengali food.

P1080602

And to top off the savoury end of our meal, the kitchen specially made us a Vegetarian Curry as we were having a completely vegetarian night. The flavours in this were incredible – making all the vegetarians and the meat-eaters very very happy!

P1080603

Now to my favourite dish – Lal Mohan ($15), which is a Rum-drunk Donut (this sold me), Caramelised Apple, Milk Powder Crumb and Saffron Crème Fraiche. Firstly – the donut. It was like nothing I have ever tasted. The outside was extremely crispy, the inside was soft yet so dense with the rum. And complimented so well by the apple and crème fraiche. I was speechless – having to use mere sounds to express my sheer ecstasy.

P1080605

Bang seriously exceeded my expectations by a mile. I had never eaten Bengali food before and was unsure as to what I was going into. But Bang surprised me in the best way possible and I am already planning my next visit! X

Bang
3/410 Crown Street
Hours: Tuesday to Thursday 6pm-Late, Friday to Saturday 12pm (Lunch) and 6pm-Late
Price: $$-$$$

Click to add a blog post for Bang Street Food on Zomato

One thought on “Bang, Surry Hills

Thoughts?

